Recently rehabilitated under the project RESTORATION AND REHABILITATION OF TWO HERITAGE BUILDINGS IN TULCEA INCLUDED IN THE REGIONAL TOURIST CIRCUITS, developed by the Council of Tulcea County, the Museum of Fine Arts is enhancing the value of the rich artistic treasure of paintings, sculptures, icons (XVIII-XIX) and decorative art (XVIII-IX) in the new permanent exhibition suggestively called “Arts and Influences in Dobrudja”.
Hosted in a beautiful monument building pertaining to the cultural heritage, built in the neoclassical style, the Museum of Fine Arts Tulcea owns collections of paintings, sculpture, icons, graphics, decorative and oriental art, etching plates.
History of the building:
– it was erected between 1863 and 1865 as the Administrative Palace of the Sanjak of Tulcea, then referred to as Pasha’s Manor House;
– in 1878, after reunion of Dobrudja with Romania, it becomes the official premises of County Prefect’s Office;
– between 1950 and 1970, it functioned as Tulcea District People’s Council;
– on August 23, 1982, it becomes the residence of the Museum of Fine Arts.
The Museum of Fine Arts Tulcea is proud for sheltering an important patrimony which has constantly grown, especially in the last 10 years, from 4365 pieces at the end of 1991, to 7015 pieces nowadays. It owns 7 collections, as follows:
- collection of modern and contemporary paintings (932 works)
- collection of modern and contemporary sculptures (420 works)
- collection of icons from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries (797 works)
- collection of modern and contemporary graphics (4016 works)
- collection of etching plates, unique in Romania (400 works)
- collection of oriental art from 18th and 19th centuries (311 pieces)
- collection of decorative art from 18th, 19th and 20th centuries (139 pieces).